Letter to Friend

07/20/2012 10:10

                About a year ago my friend and I, of many years, were having a Harry Potter marathon before the last movie was released. Five of us in a semi-circle like at the edge of a ring, we had all seen the movies plenty of times so we talked about them more than we watched them however pausing at funny parts and just enjoying the time together like a school a fish from Finding Nemo. By the time we got to the fifth, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, the sky outside had dimmed and everyone had gone, leaving just my friend and I. We started asking more personal questions, getting to know tidbits about each other that we never really made time for or maybe we were too apprehensive about.

                One very personal subject kept propping up, something I had never been able to fully explain to this friend out of fear and what they might think. I had discussed this subject in length with a few people before more to confide than to question but never could I find the courage to mention it to this one friend. I had to beat around the bush so to say, though it was obvious not just to me but also to my friend. Every other question they asked as we continued to talk produced the response “We’ve come full circle again.”

                That night, I had a lot to think about, am I doing the right thing withholding information from someone I consider being the best friend I know? I couldn’t get our conversation out of my head, like a song you fall asleep to and start singing the next morning you can’t remember right away where you heard it last.

                We had also talked about high school and letters and such. I remembered that part of our conversation in the morning and I dashed to the computer, eager, my fingertips sparking to write as that is what I love to do. I couldn’t convey the message with words of sound but I was easily able to convey it in words of ink. Though the writing process made me feel better, I struggled with whether I would actually hand it over which were my original intentions before beginning to write. A couple hours later I finally text my friend to come by and grab the letter before I changed my mind. Little did I know that I had just completed one of my greater feats in life.

                Of course, my friend later had questions, some of which I couldn’t help them with because even I do not know the answer to this day. What surprised me about the talk we had afterward was that they continued to ask questions and wonder what I can do with what I know and what I am capable of doing. I thought it would be more of a “oh, sorry this happened to you” kind of conversation. So what I learned from this experience of mine is that my friend understood more than I ever thought they would and I can’t be afraid to talk about this subject in person.

                So if you have a friend and there is something you are afraid to talk to them about, just remember a good friend will be willing to talk and it helps but a best friend will do more, they’ll ask questions and take action.

Topic: Letter to Friend

No comments found.

New comment

Contact

The IV Project Please send e-mail with your name and e-mail address to the below if you would like to be notified when significant articles are posted such as blogs and major news. the_iv_project@yahoo.com